DENR MIMAROPA participates in the Philippines East Asean Growth Area - Environmental Cluster Meeting-Workshop


Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area - Environment Cluster Meetingo-Workshop attended by the regional delegates around the country at Limketkai Luxe Hotel, Cagayan de Oro City on February 03-04, 2016.

Regional Delegates from the Environment Cluster of the Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (P-EAGA) converge at Limketkai Luxe Hotel in Cagayan de Oro City on February 03-04, 2016 to discuss its existing projects and proposal for CY 2016.

This P-EAGA Environment Cluster meeting was hosted by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources Region -XI. Ms. Marilyn R. Limpiada, Chief, Planning and Management Division and Ms. Mary Grace V. Jucutan, Administrative Assistant II were the DENR MIMAROPAs’ representatives to P-EAGA meeting-workshop. The highlights of the meeting were as follows: i) discussion on the updates of 2015 BIMP-EAGA project proposals and new projects for 2016 such as Building Local Community Resiliency in BIMP-EAGA for Climate Change Adaptation and Mitigation; ii) study on Electrical and Electronic Waste in the Philippines: A case of P-EAGA Member Regions; iii) Encouraging Environmental Services toward Green Development; and Turtle Islands Heritage Protected Area (TIPHA) Conservation and Ecotourism Project.

Subsequently, regional focal persons had some inputs to the forthcoming BIMP-EAGA Strategic Planning Meeting to be held in Davao City on February 23-26, 2016 and for the 5th BIMP-EAGA Environment Cluster Meeting on March 2016.

The Philippines East Asean Growth Area (P-EAGA) is just a part of a larger sub-regional economic cooperation of Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia and Malaysia, taken as a whole, the Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-the Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA). It is designed to spur economic development on four strategic pillars: i) enhanced connectivity, ii) food basket strategy, iii) tourism development and iv) the environment - the lead agency for the Philippine-EAGA Environment Cluster is the DENR.